Initiative Structure

Geographic Extent of Waterbird Conservation of the Americas

The geographic extent of the initiative includes North America, Central America, the islands and waters of the Caribbean, the Pacific Ocean including the U.S.-associated Pacific Islands, and the western Atlantic Ocean including Bermuda.

It includes the interests of 29 nations: Canada, United States (including Pacific and Caribbean islands), Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Venezuela (the Caribbean islands), Bermuda, Bahamas, Jamaica, Cuba, Haiti, Domincan Republic, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, St. Kitts & Nevis, Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Barbados, Granada, Trinidad & Tobago, Netherlands (the islands of Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St. Eustatius, St. Maarten), France (St. Pierre et Miquelon Archipelago, the islands of Martinique, Guadeloupe, St. Martin, St. Barthelemy), Great Britain (the islands of Turks & Caicos, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat).

Initiative Leadership

Partners in Waterbird Conservation Implementation

  • International Coalitions
  • Professional Societies
  • Environmental Nongovernmental Organization (NGOs)
  • Government Agenices
  • Regional and Taxonomic Working Groups
  • Community-based Organizations